Eszter Salamon
MONUMENT 0.5: The Valeska Gert Monument

  • Fri 13.10.17 20 h
  • Sat 14.10.17 20 h

Valeska Gert was one of the greatest artists of her time. As early as the 1920’s, her radical performance practice combined theatre, dance, cinema, poetry and singing and was defined by a fearless will to experiment with themes of gender, race, national identity and aesthetics. In the latest production in her critically acclaimed ›Monument‹ series, choreographer Eszter Salamon in artistic collaboration with Boglarka Börcsök and Sylvie Garot, nears Valeska Gert’s life and work through a shifting collection of related performative acts. In empathy with Gert’s own migrant life and located far beyond historiography, the work invites spectators to encounter the making of a speculative history in which autobiography supersedes art historical discourse and gaps in documentary evidence are filled by imagination.

Artistic direction: Eszter Salamon
Artistic collaboration: Boglàrka Börcsök
With: Boglàrka Börcsök, Eszter Salamon
Light: Sylvie Garot
Technical direction: Matteo Bambi

Production/ organisation: Botschaft Gbr / Alexandra Wellensiek, Studio E.S / Elodie Perrin
Co-production: PACT Zollverein (Essen), City of Woman, (Ljubljana), Théâtre des Amandiers (Nanterre)

Support: Fondation Boghossian -Villa Empain, Museum der Moderne Salzburg, DRAC - Regional Agency of Cultural Affairs in Paris - The French Ministry of Culture and Communication 


Funding: NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ (NPN), Co-production Fund for Dance supported by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and Media on the basis of a resolution passed by the German Bundestag, Regional Direction for Cultural Affairs in Paris – The French Ministry of Culture and Communication

With the friendly support of: Fonds Transfabrik – Franco-German fund for the performing arts

More Events
  • Sun 29.08.21 18 h
  • Thu 16.09.21Thu 30.09.21
  • Fri 01.10.21Sun 31.10.21
  • Mon 01.11.21Tue 30.11.21
  • Tue 02.11.21 16 h – 18 h
  • Tue 07.12.21 16:30 h – 18:30 h
Monthly
  • Wed 03.11.21 15 h – 18 h
  • Wed 17.11.21 15 h – 18 h
  • Wed 15.12.21 15 h – 18 h